Main Page! // About Me! // Basics of Fiqh! // (Math) Logic // The Muslim Creed // Who was Muhammad, peace be upon him? // Intro to Cryptography and Ciphers

-- Propositional Logic --


In the Name of Allah, the Most Merciful

In this page, I want to introduce some mathematical "logic" because this ties into with a bit of computer science. I only learned this in my High School Discrete Math class so I just wanted to put my notes on a web page to keep an archive of it, since it's somewhat interesting to me.


Subjects, Predicates, and Quantifiers


Consider the statement "x is greater than three."

It has two parts:

  1. x is the subject of the statement.
  2. The predicate is "is greater than three." It refers to a property that the subject, x, can or cannot have.


Let's define a propositional function: p(x) = x is greater than three

- It will return true or false depending on the input

Some example inputs and outputs: